OBESITY SURGERY IN AFRICA

The first gastric BYPASS operation in West Africa was performed at the Madeleine clinic in 2016.


Surgery remains the only effective treatment for obesity. However, no intervention will cure obesity. It can legitimately be assumed that each intervention will reduce weight for a number of years.

The obesity surgery centre of the Clinique de la Madeleine in Dakar is a multidisciplinary surgical, medical and paramedical alliance, organized around the patient to treat overweight and obesity.
We offer you a personalized care by a team determined to help you, motivate you over time and encourage you towards a new way of life in order to obtain a sustainable weight loss.

Consultations
Emergencies
Make an appointment

Pathology treated

Obesity surgery
specialize-line

Obesity is a pathology characterized by an excess of fat mass, leading to significant health problems in the patient.
Obesity can have several origins; genetic, metabolic or medical factors can promote its development.

Learn more
Digestive surgery
specialize-line

The digestive centre is responsible for the diagnosis and treatment, both medical and surgical, of diseases of the digestive system, digestive tract, pancreas, liver and biliary tract, whether in the context of emergency or scheduled surgery.


Learn more

OBESITY SURGERY

Bariatric surgery is a surgical technique that restricts the absorption of food, thereby reducing daily caloric intake: it provides a "surgical cure" for obesity.

Sleeve

Or sleeve gastrectomy
It consists of surgically removing nearly two thirds of the stomach, which reduces the capacity to receive food.
The sleeve is suitable for overweight people up to 40 kg.

View more

ByPass

The stomach is preserved, but part of it is short-circuited.
The food goes directly to the middle part of the small intestine. This reduces the amount of food absorbed by the body. The procedure is intended for patients who are overweight by 50 to 70 kg.

View more

Band

The procedure consists of placing a rigid ring around the upper part of the stomach, which prevents the stomach from stretching as food passes through. The feeling of satiety appears more quickly. The ring is connected to a housing under the skin, which is used to tighten or loosen it by injecting serum into the housing.

View more

Ballon

The procedure consists in placing an inflatable balloon (inflated either with water or air) in your stomach during gastric fibroscopy. This balloon will artificially give your stomach the feeling of being full; you will feel satiety faster during meals, so you will eat less. A weight loss of 10 to 15 kg is usually observed.

View more

Suivi

Post-operative follow-up after bariatric surgery is essential and must be continued for life. Its objective is to evaluate, in patients, the evolution of weight and the absence of excessive weight gain in the long term, to assess qualitatively and quantitatively their nutritional intake and dietary behaviour, to detect nutritional and vitamin deficiencies and possible surgical complications, to evaluate the need for tightening in patients with gastric banding and the adaptation of treatments for comorbidities associated with obesity.

View more

Frequently asked questions

In order to help you better understand the surgical procedure, we have selected the most frequently asked questions and answers about obesity surgery.
Feel free to contact us for any further questions and/or information

The pain lasts, at most, 12 to 48 hours and is moderate thanks to laparoscopy. On the other hand, the gases blown into the abdominal cavity during the operation irritate the diaphragm, and can cause aches and pains in the shoulders. These aches respond well to simple analgesics.

Do not overdo it on your abdominal wall for about a month. The recovery will be gradual after the operation. It is best to start by walking, starting about 1/2 hour a day, and gradually increasing. Swimming can be done at one month if everything is well healed, the bike is no problem either. For the abs, wait two months,... and always gradually!

Surgery alone cannot guarantee weight loss. It is an opportunity to adopt a better eating behaviour and a healthier lifestyle. The fact is, even if the surgeon gives you a "new stomach" or " new intestine ", he cannot give you new habits. Surgery is a help towards a new life.

Medical follow-up is imperative! It conditions the result and the detection of complications.
The follow-up after the ring must be at one month to adjust the clamping diameter and every 3 months in the first year (maximum weight loss period). Monthly and quarterly monitoring is recommended for the first two years for a bypass.

hospital-photo-2
hospital-photo-2
hospital-photo-3
hospital-photo-4

Our team

Obesity surgery (or bariatric surgery) has been performed at the Clinique de la Madeleine in Dakar since 2016.
The management of overweight patients is carried out by a cohesive team (a multidisciplinary team combining surgeons, anaesthetists, endocrinologists, dieticians, nurses and psychologists), operating in a network.

Bypass, anneau gastrique, sleeve : la chirurgie de l'obésité en Afrique

CHIRURGIE DE L'OBÉSITÉ EN AFRIQUE

La première opération de ByPass Gastrique en Afrique de l’Ouest a été effectuée à la clinique de la Madeleine par le Docteur BOUSTANI en 2016.


La chirurgie reste le seul traitement efficace de l’obésité. En revanche, aucune intervention ne permettra de guérir l’obésité. On peut légitimement considérer que chaque intervention va réduire le poids pendant un certain nombre d’année.

Le Pôle de Chirurgie de l'Obésité de la Clinique de La Madeleine à Dakar est une alliance pluridisciplinaire chirurgicale, médicale et paramédicale, organisée autour du patient pour traiter son surpoids et son obésité. Nous vous proposons une prise en charge personnalisée par une équipe décidée à vous aider, vous motiver dans le temps et vous encourager vers un nouveau mode de vie afin d’obtenir un amaigrissement durable.

CONSULTATIONS
URGENCES
Contact rapide

PATHOLOGIES TRAITÉES

Chirurgie de l’Obésité
specialize-line

L’obésité est une pathologie qui se caractérise par un excès de masse grasse, entraînant chez le patient des troubles importants de la santé.
L’obésité peut avoir plusieurs origines; des facteurs génétiques, métaboliques ou encore médicaux peuvent favoriser son développement.

En savoir +
Chirurgie Digestive
specialize-line

Le pôle digestif prend en charge le diagnostic et le traitement, médical et chirurgical, des maladies de l’appareil digestif, tube digestif, pancréas, foie et voies biliaire, que ce soit dans le cadre de l’urgence ou de la chirurgie programmée.


En savoir +

CHIRURGIE DE L'OBÉSITÉ

La Chirurgie bariatrique est un technique chirurgicale consistant à restreindre l'absorption des aliments, diminuant, de fait, l'apport calorique journalier : elle apporte un "remède chirurgical" à l'obésité.

Sleeve

Ou gastrectomie en manchon
Elle consiste à enlever chirurgicalement près des deux tiers de l’estomac, ce qui réduit d’autant la capacité de réception des aliments.
La sleeve est indiquée en cas de surpoids jusqu’à 40 kg.

Voir +

ByPass

L’estomac est conservé, mais une partie est court-circuitée.
Les aliments vont directement vers la partie moyenne de l’intestin grêle. La quantité d’aliments assimilés par l’organisme est ainsi diminuée. L’intervention s’adresse à des patients en excédent de poids de 50 à 70 kg.

Voir +

Anneau

L'intervention consiste à placer un anneau rigide autour de la partie supérieure de l'estomac, qui empêche celui-ci de se distendre au passage des aliments. La sensation de satiété apparaît plus rapidement. L'anneau est relié à un boîtier placé sous la peau, qui sert à le serrer ou à le desserrer en injectant du sérum dans le boîtier.

Voir +

Ballon

La procédure consiste à placer dans votre estomac, lors d'une fibroscopie gastrique, un ballon gonflable (gonflé soit à l'eau soit à l'air). Ce ballon donnera artificiellement à votre estomac la sensation d'être rempli ; vous sentirez la satiété plus vite lors des repas, donc vous mangerez moins. On observe habituellement une perte de poids de 10 à 15 kgs.

Voir +

Suivi

Le suivi postopératoire après chirurgie bariatrique est essentiel et doit être poursuivi à vie. Il a pour objectif d’évaluer, chez les patients, l’évolution pondérale et l’absence de reprise pondérale excessive sur le long terme, d’apprécier qualitativement et quantitativement leurs apports nutritionnels et leur comportement alimentaire, de dépister les carences nutritionnelles et vitaminiques et d’éventuelles complications chirurgicales, d’évaluer la nécessité d’un serrage chez les patients porteurs d’un anneau gastrique et l’adaptation des traitements des comorbidités associées à l’obésité.

Voir +

Foire aux questions

Afin de vous permettre de mieux comprendre l’acte chirurgical, nous vous avons sélectionné les questions fréquentes et réponses sur la chirurgie de l’obésité.
N’hésitez pas à nous contacter pour toutes autres questions et/ou renseignements

La douleur dure, au maximum, 12 à 48 heures et est modérée grâce à la laparoscopie. Par contre, les gaz insufflés dans la cavité abdominale pendant l'opération, irritent le diaphragme, et peuvent provoquer des courbatures ou des douleurs au niveau des épaules. Ces maux répondent bien aux antalgiques simples.

Il ne faut pas trop forcer sur votre paroi abdominale pendant environ un mois. La reprise sera progressive après l'opération. Le mieux est de démarrer par de la marche, au départ environ 1/2 heure par jour, et d'augmenter progressivement. La natation peut être pratiquée à un mois si tout est bien cicatrisé, le vélo ne pose pas de problèmes non plus. Pour les abdos, attendre deux mois,...et toujours de manière progressive!

La chirurgie seule ne peut pas vous garantir une perte de poids. C'est une opportunité d'adopter un meilleur comportement alimentaire et un style de vie plus sain. Le fait est que, même si le chirurgien vous donne un « nouvel estomac » ou un « nouvel intestin », il ne peut pas vous donner de nouvelles habitudes. La chirurgie est une aide vers une nouvelle vie.

Le suivi médical est impératif ! Il conditionne le résultat et la détection de complication.
Le suivi après anneau doit être à un mois pour ajuster le diamètre de serrage et tous les 3 mois la première année (période d'amaigrissement maximal). Un suivi mensuel puis trimestriel est recommandé les deux premières années pour un bypass.

hospital-photo-2
hospital-photo-2
hospital-photo-3
hospital-photo-4

Notre équipe

La chirurgie de l’obésité (ou chirurgie bariatrique) est pratiquée au sein de la Clinique de la Madeleine à Dakar depuis ???
La prise en charge des patients atteints de surpoids est réalisée grâce à une équipe soudée (équipe pluridisciplinaire associant chirurgiens, anesthésistes, endocrinologues, diététiciens, infirmières et psychologue), fonctionnant en réseau.

specialist-2
Docteur Roland BOUSTANI

Diplômé de la faculté de Paris VII
Spécialité(s): chirurgie Digestive et Générale Chirurgie de l'obésité
DIU de chirurgie endocrienne et métabolique
Contact Dakar: +221 77 336 11 55
Mail: roboustani@gmail.com